Chairman John Toigo, Australia-Taiwan Business Council Ltd (ATBC) and Chairman Wei-Fuu Yang ROC-Australia Business Council (ROCABC, also Chairman of Taiwan Power Company) jointly presided over the 33rd Joint Conference Theme – “Australia and Taiwan: Go Smart”.  Conference topics included: Go Smart, Innovation, Energy & Resources and Investment & Finance.  The Conference also featured a forum on “Australia-Taiwan Trade and Investment: Building Business around the Investment Queensland Strategy and New Southbound Policy”.


The Conference was well attended with the attendance of greater than 180 government and business representatives from both sides.

32nd  Joint Conference of Australia-Taiwan and ROC-Australia Business Councils: Group photo of Chairman John Toigo, ATBC; Chairman Yang, Wei-Fuu, ROCABC/ CIECA, Taiwan Power Company;  Ms Wang, Mei-Hua, Vice Minister of Economic Affairs; Chairman Henry Kao, CIECA; Mr Graham Fletcher, First Assistant Secretary, Dept. of Foreign Affairs & Trade; Representative Elliot Charng, Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Australia; Representative Gary Cowan, Australian Office Taipei and all-conference over 180 attendees”

What we do

Established in 1982, the ATBC continues to play a central role in fostering relations between Australia and Taiwan.

With more than a quarter century of successful involvement, the ATBC has an unparalleled understanding of Taiwan’s history, politics and government, economy, business community and culture.

We understand the subtleties of Taiwan’s relationship with its neighbour to the west, as well as the Australian government’s ‘one China’ policy.

ATBC promotes business between Australia, Taiwan and China.  We are the ones who will best connect you with the people who matter to your business. 

Services for members

We can help you do more and better business

Consulting Services

The ATBC undertakes competitively priced consulting assignments for member companies and others.

  • Detailed market research
  • Introductions and appointments in Taiwan
  • Market entry and market development strategies
  • Translating and interpreting

Office Bearers

The people behind ATBC


Mr John Toigo


Hon Gary Hardgrave

The Hon Gary Hardgrave

Vice Chairman

ShaniFord-7008 (smaller tender size) - Copy (2)

Ms Shani Ford

Hon Treasurer


Ms Ching-Mei Maddock


National Committee

Mr Christopher Campbell

Academies Australasia Group

Mr Anthony Lin

Goodman Lawyers

Mr Wei Cheong

Macquarie Group Taiwan

Mr Tad Watroba

Hancock Prospecting Pty Ltd

Mr HongSee Lau

ANZ Group Taiwan

Mr Mark Hardy


Mr Zac Lombardo

Public Policy Navigator

Mr Nathan Scholz

Domino’s Pizza Enterprises Ltd

Senior Advisors

Dr David Chiu


Mr Jason Lin

M.I.T. Chartering (Australia) Pty Ltd

Mr Cliff Barker

Barker & Associates

Former Chairmen

The late Sir Charles Court AK KCMG OBE

Founding Chairman

The late Sir Robert Cotton AO KCMG

Mr Ken Court AM

Mr Jack Cowin

Mr Maurice L Newman AC

The Rt Hon Ian Sinclair AC

The late Mr Ross Maddock OAM

Chairman Emeritus


Sir Charles Court Award

For an outstanding contribution to the Australia-Taiwan Relations

Mr Theodore Huang

TECO Electric and Machinery

2002 (Inaugural)

Mr David Chiu & Ms Ligi Lee

The Sundale Group


Mr Edward Chen

Taiwan Power Corporation


H E Ambassador David Dawei Lee


Dr Jo-Chi Tsou

China Steel Corporation (CSC)


Mr Henry Kao

I-Mei Foods Co. Ltd


Mr Ross Maddock OAM


Yu Shan Award

For towering contributions to the ATBC

Mr John Kean OAM



Chairman's Award

For outstanding contributions to the ATBC

Ms Margaret Wang

Clayton Utz

2013 (Inaugural)

Mr Cliff Barker

Barker & Associates


Mr Anker Hung

Minatek Pty Ltd


Internship Program

From time to time, the ATBC offers internships to outstanding young men and women who wish to gain hands-on experience in Australia-Asia business affairs.

Contact us